Futility of Life

We walked down the road hand in hand
Life was a poetry to be lived
We got talking about us – our dreams, our fears and our wishes.

The warmth of your palms melted years of resistance around my heart
When we believed the heat of love will never dim,
The blizzard of life hit us.

With renewed resolve we still held hands
We walked through the storm,
To the garden of spring on the other side.

The colours brought vibrance and pride that we made it.
I looked at you, expecting a happy reflection of me in your eyes.

You still held my hands albeit it was frozen.
The warmth in my heart failed to thaw it.
Your cold glance seared a tattoo through my skin

Somewhere on the journey called life
That we walked together
I lost you to the cold.

Leave a Reply

